Home » RestWebservice » HTTP status codes

HTTP status codes

http Status Codes :: are the 3 digit codes sent in the response from the server to the requesting client.http status code is part of the HTTP/1.1 standard RFC 7231.

Out of the 3 digits in http status code ,there are officially mainly 5 values 1,2,3,4,5 for 1st digit.
Below are the major status codes you need to know.

1×× Informational : An informational response indicates that the request was received and understood by server.

    http Status code       Description 
 100 Continue
 101 Switching Protocols It means client requested  server to switch protocols and server successfully does the same.
 102 Processing It means the server has received and is processing the request from the client, but no response is available yet to client.
103 Early Hints It is basically used to return response headers before final HTTP message.

2×× Success : This series of status codes indicate that the action requested by the client was received, understood and accepted by server.

    http Status code       Description 
 200 OK
 201 Created
 202 Accepted
 203 Non-authoritative Information
 204 No Content
 205 Reset Content
 206 Partial Content
 207 Multi-Status
 208 Already Reported
 226 IM Used

3×× Redirection : 

This series of status codes indicate that  the client must take additional action to complete the request. Many of these status codes are used in URL Redirection.

    http Status code       Description 
 300 Multiple Choices
 301 Moved Permanently
 302 Found
 303 See Other
 304 Not Modified
 305 Use Proxy
 306 Switch Proxy
 307 Temporary Redirect
 308 Permanent Redirect

4×× Client Error : This series of status codes indicate that  error seems to have been caused by the client.Mostly  syntax issue at client request. 

    http Status code       Description 
 400 Bad Request
 401 Unauthorized
 402 Payment Required
 403 Forbidden
 404 Not Found
 405 Method Not Allowed
 406 Not Acceptable
 407 Proxy Authentication Required
 408 Request Timeout
 409 Conflict
 410 Gone
 411 Length Required
 412 Precondition Failed
 413 Payload Too Large
 414 Request-URI Too Long
 415 Unsupported Media Type
 416 Requested Range Not Satisfiable
 417 Expectation Failed
 418 I’m a teapot
 421 Misdirected Request
 422 Unprocessable Entity
 423 Locked
 424 Failed Dependency
 426 Upgrade Required
 428 Precondition Required
 429 Too Many Requests
 431 Request Header Fields Too Large
 444 Connection Closed Without Response
 451 Unavailable For Legal Reasons
 499 Client Closed Request

5×× Server Error : This series of status codes indicate that server  has encountered an error and it is  incapable of performing the request i.e. server has failed to fulfill a valid request.

    http Status code       Description 
 500 Internal Server Error
 501 Not Implemented
 502 Bad Gateway
 503 Service Unavailable
 504 Gateway Timeout
 505 HTTP Version Not Supported
 506 Variant Also Negotiates
 507 Insufficient Storage
 508 Loop Detected
 510 Not Extended
 511 Network Authentication Required
 599 Network Connect Timeout Error


Reference ::

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

17 − eleven =